Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Many children have an enormous amount of toys to play with. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. On one hand, having a large number of toys can bring several benefits to children. Firstly, one child who has numerous options for entertainment will less likely become bored and is going to have an incredibly enjoyable childhood. Secondly, most of the toys nowadays are educational so the more toys one has the more they will learn. To illustrate, researchers have published studies about the importance of the toys in children ’s brain development, and the results show that the ones with access to an extensive variety of toys during their childhood presented the best performances in logical tests. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks about having a huge amount of toys. One of them is that children do not appreciate them as they should since they have too many options and they start to believe that toys are disposable. Another problem is that these children tend to face some problems in their adult lives because they were spoiled at home and do not understand that they will not always have what they desire, and most of the time this reality is difficult to be accepted by them. To conclude, to have an extensive number of toys have its advantages and disadvantages. It provides a happier and more educative childhood, however, also can make children do not enjoy their toys as much as they could and become a problematic adult.