Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is generally understood that society is based on rules and laws. However, others opine that society could still operate properly even if its members have the right to do anything they desired. I completely disagree with that view. To begin with, legal regulations are built based on the agreements of the community and ensure the basic rights of each individual. For example, when on road, all the participants have to obey the traffic rules such as follow indicator lights or do not drive drunk. Otherwise, car crashes and traffic congestion could be foreseen or even lead to serious injuries and death for drivers and pedestrians. All these rules are made to create a common standard that helps to maintain the stability of the whole community. By contrast, without legal limitations, society will be chaotic and malfunctioned. First, people will be less concerned about others, and their decisions would be more motivated by their self-interest. For instance, a company can sell faulty yet cheaply produced merchandise to customers to maximize its revenue when consumer protection laws are not in place. Moreover, the mafia and other underground forces will use violence to coerce ordinary people in order to expand their scope of control, which could lead to brutal massacres. Hence, the absence of the rule of law should never occur so that we will not face human eradication. In conclusion, rules and laws must be made to ensure a safe and well-functioned community. They are created for social security, not go against individual liberty. People can do everything they want but with the existing legal frameworks.