People should only buy locally grown food ; it is better for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

We should consume the food products grown regionally since it would be beneficial for the society and also at a personal level. Although we agree with the aforesaid statement. Still, in some cases,edibles grown offshore are better than the local ones. To begin with, promoting the local market is advantageous in numerous ways. Firstly, it would be beneficial for the farmers and the trader's community who are working on the ground level to bring the food on our plate. Secondly, the human body is highly adaptable and is habitual to the minerals and nutrients present in the regional yield. Hence, any foreign material may disrupt the normal biological functioning of our body. For example in a recent case where an international traveller bought an exclusive fruit from outside the country. He needs to hospitalised on consuming due to some micro-organisms present in that fruit. Additionally, from the economics aspect importing goods including edibles and non-edibles are not good for the country's economy. However, there are few instances where introducing new species of crops are better than relying on the local products. If properly scrutinized from the medical aspect then such introduction will improve the quality of the crops by increasing nutrients level and protection against the diseases and the pests. To illustrate, wheat in India is more prone to insects and pests attack. Therefore, they need more chemical fertilizer in order to protect them against such attacks. Whereas, Australian species are immune to attacks. With the introduction of this new type, the yield has improved drastically in past few years. To conclude, consumption and promotion of regional products are advantageous for the society and individual but in some instances importing and growing new crops is preferable.