Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although, some people believe that it is useless to look at the past to improve our present life, others think that human history is crucial to understand life. Personally, I believe that, it is highly important that we study the past to avoid our ancestor's mistakes. It is fair to assume that the past will not be useful because life is rapidly changing and the issues of the past are not similar to the present, for example, it is not advantageous to look at the drugs that were used in the past because the majority of them are proven to be harmful. Moreover, some of the information from history books are not true, thus, sometimes you can build on some events which did not even occur. Nevertheless, there are some major benefits of considering the past an important source of information because there are a lot of events that happened and they are likely to happen again so it is imperative to check how people dealt with them in the past to deal with them better than they did, for instance, it is necessary to know how wars started and what makes humans kill their each other to stop them from occurring again. Furthermore, looking in history is how every modern discovery started because of the past issues scientists think of solutions to help solve these problems. Another benefit is to know how hard life used to be in order to be grateful for what we already have. To conclude, while some think past is unimportant, in my view, we can filter the history to benefit from the useful information and to avoid the mistakes of humans in the past.