For more and more people, wearing fashionable clothes has become very important. Is this attitude to wearing fashionable clothes a positive or a negative development?

People from all walks of life are becoming dedicated followers of fashion, constantly trying to keep up-to-date with the latest fashion trends. There are both benefits and drawbacks to this; however, I personally feel that it borders on being more harmful than beneficial. Increased interest in fashion has resulted in fashionable clothing being more affordable for the masses. Previously, owning such items meant buying overpriced designer clothes and, therefore, it was only accessible to the wealthy and the privileged. In the last few decades, however, high-street chains have been producing trendy clothes at affordable prices to meet the greater demand of the general public. As a result, fashion is no longer a reserve for the rich, but is now accessible to all. which is a positive step forward in this regard. On the other hand, though, this desire to be stylish has greater negative consequences. Firstly, it has made clothes more disposable, as outfits are produced cheaply, worn on a couple of occasions and subsequently discarded. This causes a large amount of waste and exacerbates the problem of pollution. In addition to this, there is a great deal of pressure, particularly on the younger generation, to keep up with their peers. For instance, if a student is wearing the latest Nike trainers, and consequently, everyone in the class feels pressured into having the same or equally trendy footwear. In conclusion, this obsession with wearing the latest fashion trends has made clothes thrown away and not reusable. Moreover, this incessant need to have the latest must-have items puts far too much pressure on the environment and adolescents, so it cannot be regarded as progress.