Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

A well-structured nation is a virtue of regulations and norms meant as the code of conduct for the general public. I agree with the view that it will be difficult for a society to move towards the right direction without an appropriate laws-system in place. In this essay, we will understand the imperativeness of these norms for a peaceful living. Firstly, rules and laws would support in bringing discipline in the eco-system. In other words, they can act as a guide for the public to live in a way which is suitable and safe for them as well as for the others around. For example, there is a law which instructs to wear a seat belt while driving and, it is made to ensure the safety of not only the driver but also of other individuals on the road. Moreover, can help in maintaining discipline on the driveways. Secondly, it can also help in lowering the crime rates in society. In addition, the existence of rules and regulations may prohibit an individual from doing things which can be inappropriate for others as well as for them. Furthermore, they define the consequences of acts that could affect society. For instance, consumption of alcohol at public places is prohibited and the offenders should be penalised. Thus, restricting the people from harming nature as well as the health of the public. To summarize, the establishment of regulations and norms can direct the citizens towards a better life by practising discipline and minimising the crime rate and, therefore supporting its overall functioning.