Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

It is commonly seen that these days buying is just becoming a free time activity. This has more merits and demerits, as believed by some individuals. This essay will discuss; firstly, popularity due to showing off social status. Secondly, how family budgets get hampered by extra shopping and the damage of throwaway culture, as its effects on individual and society. Maintaining social status only because of television influenced is the major cause of this issue. Particularly, they try to intimate the lifestyle of the celebrities shown on the programs telecasted. In an effort to make their real-life as similar to reel life, ends in buying things not needed. To illustrate, it is often seen that in get together and kitties, women get dressed in a new attire every time only to show-off her the near and dear ones. Furthermore, unwanted purchasing results in collapsing budget of the families. Especially, for a middle-class person, the monthly spending is utmost important. Shopping any unnecessary item may result in the failure of fulfilling the other needs. For instance, purchasing a car on loan leads to a miserable condition while repaying due to heavy interest and instalment. Moreover, the ever-increasing throwaway culture is impacting on society and contributing to pollution. Overbuying of items which can be repaired is replaced easily. For example, youngsters usually get new mobile phones as soon as the company launches the latest model. Resulting in an increase in a waste plastic crisis. To conclude, impressing and flaunting are the reasons for the surge in popularity of shopping. Although it gives false praises, it has a detrimental effect on an individual financial budget and increased amount of pollution. People should move beyond the philosophy of single-use.