Some people think that only the government can make significant changes in society, while others think that individual can have a lot of influence. What is your opinion?

There have been numerous occasions throughout the entire history of mankind when society had to undergo significant changes. However, there is no agreement whether these changes could be provided only by large bodies such as the government, or individuals could also influence this process. I personally see both possibilities as equal, and this essay will prove this point of view. On the one hand, the government has far more resources compared to the citizens, so it could more easily handle the flow of the society. This not only includes financial resources, but also a broader knowledge base, as well as an access to experts in various fields. For example, the shift from socialism to market economy in the ex-USSR would be impossible without the joint effort of economists, political scientists and sociologists funded by the state. Thus, it is apparent that the government is better prepared for making social changes, especially if these changes are predictable and could be planned in advance. On the other hand, it is individuals who should take over and reshape the social landscape whenever the government is unable or unwilling to settle the problems of the people. Being the last resort, this unfortunately often means revolution. For instance, the uneasy social situation in the first quarter of the twentieth century resulted in several revolutions all over the Europe, all led by groups of individuals. Therefore, this becomes obvious that people excel at making changes that are induced from within the society itself. To summarize, the government has better options at making planned changes in society, whereas individuals more commonly influence drastic, revolutionary events. It can be agreed, therefore, that both the government and individuals are equally capable of affecting the society, however their intentions and methods are often orthogonal.