With the increase in computer use, many people feel that school do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mathematics skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that with the excessive usage of computers in the student's life, the educational institution may ignore the basic skills of logical mathematics and handwriting which was compulsory for children in the previous days. I completely disagree with the statement and would elaborate on the views in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, schools cannot skip the basic skills of the students for various reasons. Firstly, it may weaken their mental ability. In other words, the math subject helps the students to improve their memory by doing the calculations and performing the various puzzles. Moreover, it increases the concentration power of pupil which plays a crucial rule in the overall development of the child. Though computers can do all the calculation, yet the process may make the child dumb. Secondly, technology would not stay forever with human but only mental ability. There are some situations where machines get failed and a person do not know calculation, at that spot of time the person considered to be illiterate one. Consequently, the mathematics is necessary at the schools. Furthermore, handwriting also plays a great role in pupil life. The handwriting showcase the personality and intelligence of the students. Not only this, it can even help those who are suffering from disabilities like ADD and Dyslexia. Additionally, people are dependent on soft documents and portable document files. Due to it, no one bothers about writing on the paper. With this, they start forgetting about grammar and spelling part of writing. The auto-suggestion facility of writing software making the people academically weak, because they do not bother about learning grammar and spelling which person can learn easily while writing with a pen or pencil. Therefore, basic knowledge of maths and writing is necessary during school period. To conclude, although the computer has numerous benefits yet it cannot beat the human brain. It is the only mental ability that helps them to operate the computers of writing and calculations. Hence these skills cannot be ignored in life.