Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is always argued by parents whether the children need to be brought up as a competitor or co-operator. Some adults lean towards strengthening their kids’ sense of rivalry as they assume that it will help them succeed. On the contrary, others prefer to raise the youth in the environment of friendship and flexibility they believe that it promotes healthy relationships and psychological health. In this essay, both opinions will be discussed and the conclusion with the winning opinion will be provided. It is a common belief that the strongest characters are built up by the sense of competition and succeeding over others. Undoubtedly, their opinion is supported by evolution. It is not a secret that the strongest people of a tribe have been nominated to lead the clan into the hunting, therefore they would get the biggest share of the prey, supporting their families over the ones, which were led by them. Another typical example is the honour roll of the school, proving that the most likely students to succeed in future are the ones on top of it. On the contrary, the other half of the parents think that constant feeling of rivalry may lead to emotional distress and cause severe psychological problems amongst the growing generation. The constant pressure of a failure may haunt the teenagers and drive them to poor choices of substance abuse as there are plenty of examples of young sports champions going the wrong direction after a stressful athletic career. These believers of flexibility and cooperation claim that there are numerous examples of success stories of artists, who have been brought up in a more relaxed environment, such as Billie Eilish, who has been writing songs starting when she was a high school kid being brought as a free spirit. On the whole, I am inclined to believe that competition is a healthy way to transform a child into a confident adult.