Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

Age differences have led to intergenerational competition in the past years when the elderly have to compete with the young adults. However, there are several problems that occur because of this phenomenon and some measures need to be taken. To begin with, this age conflict between older and younger people in the job market causes some issues in society. Firstly, in most cases, the aged group has a higher chance of losing vacancies since the newest generation is more beneficial for the company. Some employers see younger generations as cost-effective workers due to their lower salary expectations. Hence, companies can cut down on the expenditure. Another possible consequence is that such competition leads to financial problems for aged job seekers since most of them usually have families to support. Even worse, this issue is known as the vocal reason for most divorce cases. In order to solve these shortcomings, some solutions need to be executed by the government and individuals. First of all, the government responded by providing workshops on the skill sets needed for the elderly. This training will help them to improve their skill to be employed. Secondly, the government can create a regulation for fair hiring practices to be implemented. This is needed since currently some job vacancies put a certain range of age in their requirement. Without this regulation, the aged job seekers are disadvantaged in the employment process. Finally, each individual should promote the value of a diverse workforce so that the experiences of the elderly and the knowledge of fresh graduates will strengthen them when they cooperate well. In conclusion, the age gap in the hiring process somehow leads to some problems such as the lower chance for the older to be accepted and causes financial problems for their family. Thus, governments and individuals should take some actions to tackle this problem by implementing additional training, setting new hiring regulations, and campaigning for the value of a diverse workforce.