Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that as artist receive a low pay scale and they should be provided with state funds, to preserve their interest. I strongly disagree with the statement because; firstly, the government has other sectors to improve. Secondly, the essay will discuss the way of increasing the income of the art creators. Allocating funds on artists and their development by the government mean fewer budget towards the development of other important fields. Particularly, areas like infrastructure, health and education. Neglecting this will result in poverty, malnutrition and unemployment. Therefore, hampering the overall development of the nation. For instance, for a developing country like Bangladesh, the first priority is to develop better conditions and situations for the survival of its citizens. If funds are parked towards any specific area it may result in worsening state conditions. Moreover, in this digital age, it is easy for individuals having a carrier in arts to earn a good amount of money. There are many social media platforms that encourage such creativity and give a better platform. The only thing required is to upload, recorded videos and audios of their creation. Consequently, the audience appreciates their work and thus it gets more views. Increase in popularity gives the opportunity to promote brands which in return provides monetary benefits and other advantages. To illustrate this, a page at Facebook namely ‘Deepak’s Art and Craft’ which post videos of making a painting using crayons. It led to having millions of followers and viewers which automatically generates money. To conclude, although art is a crucial part of cultural heritage, spending taxpayer money in this specific field means hampering the growth of the nation. Promoting their fine works on social media may help in monetary gains. The artist should opt for combining technology with their creativity without relying much on government support.