Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by many individuals that nurses should be well-versed with medical knowledge while others believe that they should possess other important qualities besides medical therapies. This essay will discuss both views with valid reasons, suitable examples and conclude with my own opinion. Nursing is the noblest profession, they not only assist the doctors but also they selflessly taking care of the patients in their absence; thus, they need to have good medical knowledge. Firstly, a good idea of medical science will help them to assist the surgeons in complex surgeries. Moreover, they can check their patients in case of emergency or absence of the medical in charge. For instance, as per the statistics given by the Medical Council of India, every 500 patients have only 1 doctor to treat them; therefore, it is very important for them to have the good medical knowledge to assist the doctors. To the sharp contrast, other qualities such as management, speaking skills, and a positive attitude are equally important. To begin with, the patients not only required adequate medical services but also required emotional support and motivation to fight the disease they are struggling with. To add to this, spiritual support by the hospital staff can help the family to bear the pain in case of any misfortunate incident. Furthermore, technical knowledge will help them to manage the number of patients in one go. For example, as per the job openings by the Monster job portal, 60% hospital requires nurses with the technical knowledge. To conclude, although it is good to have other skills such as communication and technical knowledge I agree that nurses must be well-versed with medical knowledge.