Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising is part of our life, it is everywhere on TV, outside on billboards, in our magazines, or on the internet. Some people think it is a bit too intrusive in our lives and that it encourages us to buy stuff we don’t really need, on the other hand others think that it can inform us about new products and it is positive for our life. For my part I think advertising is something useful as it can inform us as to the new products and technologies which are currently on the market. First of all the goal of advertising is to inform the consumer about brand new products, all those new characteristics, and why these products are so unique. Without advertising we will never know about these new technologies. For example without advertising we might never know what asmartphoneisand all the new technologies we use every day. Then when we know the product, advertising can again be useful to us as it helps us to make a choice between two different brands which sell the same type of goods. They will promote their own ideas, and that will help us to know each model's features and particularities and which one is the best for us. For example, this can help us to know about all the new computers which are currently on the market and which one is the best depending on our needs. To conclude,if we have to choose if advertising is useful for us as a consumer or if it is just a bad way to push us to consume stuff we don’t really need, I believe commercials are a good way which could be really helpful. We should be just a bit careful to not believe everything, and keep our self-judgement to buy products we really need