Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that most of the celebrities are known for their luxurious lifestyles than for their performance or talents these days. Many people think that this kind of attitude is not a good idea for the young generation. To a certain extent, I would agree that this kind of behaviour would be a bad idea for society, but there are other famous personalities who are popular due to their outstanding accomplishment. On the one hand, it is a fact that many famous people become popular due to their fancy lifestyle, instead of their outstanding achievement these days. Their acting talent might be standard or below the average, but they are making sensation to the public by showing their wealth and glamorous lifestyles. For example, Kim Kardashian who is famous for her reality television program, whereas it mostly shows her luxurious mansion, party and shopaholic lifestyles and less of her acting. Hence, it is believed that the behaviour would be a negative influence for the young public as it teaches them about hedonistic lifestyle. On the other hand, there are famous personalities who are popular for their incredible acts or outstanding performance. Moreover, these communities have shown to the world that they have reached success due to strong determination and hard work, and the public always recognises them for their masterpiece of arts and great achievements. For instance, the legendary English footballer David Beckham, he was not only a good athlete but also became the model of some sports apparels. Although David Beckham sometimes had shown his glamorous lifestyle, he had also shown to the public that he was a good football player. He had informed in his biography that to achieved success, he had to work hard in his young age, as he had to practice in doing penalty kick for around 1000 kick per day consistently. Therefore, these kinds of superstar's are worth to be followed by the young generation. In conclusion, many famous people are well known for their wealth and luxurious style, instead of their achievement and it would be a negative example for the young age population. To a certain point, I would disagree with the opinion, since there are other superstar's who are famous due to their great talent and performance. In my opinion, I think the public should be more selective in choosing their role models, not just in front of the camera, but we should also see from their personal life as well.