Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays the number of tourists travelling to the locations with ultimate conditions is increasing rapidly. This essay will look into the benefits and disfavours of such destination choices. Firstly, it is difficult to argue that the biggest advantage of a journey to such places, as the Antarctic or the Sahara desert is that a person can observe the untouched wildlife and nature of the secluded ecosystems. For example, there are certain species, which populate only in reserved locations, e.g. the polar bears are exclusive to the Antarctic. Secondly, it is a well-known fact that tourists enjoy the breathtaking and unique scenery of such places, especially a star fall at night in a tent in the Sahara desert when an individual can feel in touch with nature. On the other hand, there are several obvious hardships, associated with expeditions to places with harsh climatic conditions. A good example of the disadvantage is that a tourist is expected to suffer low or high temperatures. There are plenty of examples of people losing their limbs in expeditions to the Antarctic. Another good illustration of the hardships is experiencing strong thirst or heat stroke in the Sahara desert - the driest place on our planet, where days can be unimaginably hot and the nights severely cold. In conclusion, it is fair to state that there are the drawbacks and benefits of travel to the uninhabited areas. In my opinion, the pros of feeling united with the Earth significantly outweigh the cons of a harsh climate.