The internet is viewed as an excellent means of communication by many. However, there are others who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is commonly argued nowadays whether the internet is an outstanding way to communicate or if it is ultimately damaging our social interaction skills. In this essay,I will look into both sides f the debate and will explain why I lean towards the first opinion. On the one hand, there are people supporting the idea that it has become an essential tool for communication. Firstly, one of the most substantial examples is that it definitely has made the long-distance short. Having said that, it is hard to argue that nowadays we can video chat with our friend and family even if they are in the other part of the world. Another good example, proving the point is uniting a tremendous number of individuals with the same views, hobbies, interests. There are plenty of social platforms, such as Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, Twitter. On the other hand, it is fair to admit that the constant use of the internet may lead to some substantial drawbacks. Community is convinced that it significantly reduces the real-life interaction and physical activity, especially amongst the youth. Numerous studies have proven that overusing this method of communication has caused a social movement in Japan, promoting a total self-isolation from society thus causing a paramount drop in activity and leading to insecurity and depression among teenagers. Another good illustration of the damage to social communication is that this technology is highly addictive. There is no secret that an image of a family dinner with everyone around the table texting to each other is becoming normal these days, thus killing the ability to spend quality time with the closest people in the world. In conclusion, it is fair to state that both views of the debate have some strong grounds. The internet may be harmful to our social skills when overused, however, I personally think that the benefits it provides for uniting families over video calls and people with the same views significantly outweigh the drawbacks.