Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

A few individuals believe the teaching of some hard subjects are unimportant and ought to made optional in the curriculum. I, however, disagree to large extent with this ideology and reasons to strengthen my viewpoint are put forth in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, the prominent benefit of exclusion of difficult subjects is pupils can spend more time on extensive study of subjects which are interested in them. To explain, It has been seen that hard topics of subjects such as mathematics take plenty of time to be grasped properly, thereby exploiting a large share of time of students who dislike these subjects. However, this situation can be avoided if these subjects are only taught as optional material in the school. Owing to this, only those students will opt these subjects who have a keen interest and remaining students can easily work on other aspects of the syllabus. On the other hand, In my perspective, these subjects are compulsory for the development of intellectual and cognitive skills. It is primarily due to the fact that such solving problems in such subjects often require brainstorming by young minds. As this is a basic requirement especially in formative years of a child, these must be included in the education of children. For example, the various researches have confirmed that problem-solving abilities enhance with the study of mathematics and science. This skill is not only imperative for education, but also vital in daily routine life. In addition, the teaching of subjects like philosophy is important for the study of the behaviour of human beings which can make young ones more refined personalities. Indeed, imparting knowledge related to different theories and ideology increase the horizon of thinking and help them in various phases of life. To cite an example, the study of organizational behaviour can help the student to rise in their career while working in a team by understanding the behaviour of the colleagues more efficiently. Thus, these subjects should not be ignored. To conclude, even though tough subjects consume more time of some students, I still assume that they are necessary to be taught in schools for the holistic development of a child.