People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

There is a growing consensus that the older era is believed to be more satisfied rather than the recent era, which is known for its chaos. For starters, entertainment choices were limited in the past decades, unlike the current period, which prioritises pleasure over everything else. Therefore, this essay will explain why I consider myself one of the naysayers who think older nations are more cheerful. The environment in the early ages, especially before and after the World War in 1945, was very unstable. This is caused by the raging battle that destroyed most population infrastructures. Henceforth, societies were stressed as they were still in recovery, particularly with their economies. Additionally, nations that were greatly affected by the warfare are in crisis. Thereupon, the people in those nations suffer a heavy loss not only in their economy but also in their families, as some of them are the victims of bloodshed. It must be remembered that in 1946, a year after the battle ended, countries on all continents suffered an event called the great depression. A point overlooked in that event is the economy, as it collapses, and deprivation within societies puts them in a state of survival. With this in mind, I wonder how stressful it is to live in such a generation. The limited variations of entertainment in that age make that even worse. However, the younger generations argue that entertainment at that age could make people happier. Although this may be actual, upper-class societies only reach some entertainment because of their pricey tags. Therefore, the lower one had limited entertainment, and the media entertainment was not as fancy as today. To put it in perspective, nowadays, people have access to a plethora of entertainment options with their gadgets, whereas, in the early days, those had not been founded yet. The most compelling evidence to prove this is from the historical data from 1945 that shows 8 of 10 people in that year suffered depression. Thus, most people in that year have plenty of huge problems to handle, making them less happy than people in recent years. In conclusion, Most people in their early years did not enjoy life due to the unstable environment, not to mention the limited source of leisure media available to overcome the stress of living in such situations. Because of this problem, I strongly disagree with the statement that people in recent years are more stressed than in the early years.