Mobile phones are considered essential by most people nowadays. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of mobile phones and state your opinion.

In recent years, the popularity of mobile phones has seen a long-term gradual increasing tendency all over the world. While some people say that these gadgets have negative aspects, others argue that they are absolutely beneficial for humans. The following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain, why I totally believe that this is a helpful and useful invention. To begin with, one nuance which detracts from the positive points of portable telephones is that they can potentially entail the degradation of people's health. To put it differently, as nowadays there is the opportunity to communicate with friends or relatives online, it is not mandatory to leave home for some meetings and events, and people tend to move physically less. As a case in point, compared with the past, where people could not discuss common topics and questions via phone due to the fact that there were always some limits for the call duration, now new technologies provide us with the possibility to stay on-call or chat as long as we want. As a result, mobile phones encourage humans to be less active, and can potentially drastically impact our well-being, because physical tasks are a significant part for the maintaining of a healthier lifestyle. On the contrary, these devices are useful and sufficient tools in case of emergency, and they drastically simplify our life. In other words, in case a person faces a complication and he urgently requires help from others, he can easily reach someone by using his telephone. To illustrate this point, I had a negative experience during my trip from Rome to Milan, as my car was suddenly broken in the middle of the road, but a call to my close friend helped me tackle the difficulty. Thus, from my point of view, mobile phones are a brilliant option to solve sudden issues, and their important role in our life cannot be underestimated. In conclusion, the movement towards the active usage of mobile phones is all too familiar now. There is an opinion that they could exacerbate our well-being by motivating us to move less, but I strongly believe that the positive sides of this invention outweigh its drawbacks, as they are sometimes the only thing which can save us in a case of emergency.