In many countries, more and more people choose to but imported food rather than food produced locally. Why is this? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In many areas all over the world, the number of consumers eating imported food instead of local cuisine has been increasing due to its exotic appeal. This writer believes that this phenomenon could be reversed by promoting citizens’ awareness and educating students about its environmental impacts. It is vital to understand that people are attracted by international food. Because of the fact that humans have a desire to try new flavours, foreign cuisine brings unique and unfamiliar tastes to native residents. In addition, imported products are expected to have high perceived quality and safety standards in numerous people’s subconsciousness, which means that it gives them health security. As a result, more and more citizens prefer consuming dishes from different countries. It should be acknowledged that governments should take action to encourage local consumption, such as raising people’s awareness. As there are various benefits of buying locally that native people might not recognise, for example, reasonable prices and fresh ingredients, it is necessary to have posts and articles on social media or newspapers to discuss this issue. What is more, schools also need to educate children and teenagers about environmental impacts, like increasing water and soil pollution. This can lead to the recognition of students about the importance of eating local dishes. Thus, it is vital to raise human consciousness about this matter. Taking all into consideration, more and more inhabitants consume foreign food due to its exotic appeal. Hence, local authorities should have strategies to heighten people’s awareness of the importance of provincial food consumption.