In the past most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Nowadays, more people live in big cities than in small villages. However, in the past, a lot of people lived in small villages. Doing this can be both beneficial and harmful in many ways. There are a number of benefits of living in a small community. Firstly, small towns have a friendly atmosphere and a great sense of community spirit as all villagers know each other very well. As a result, they are capable of supporting neighbours who need help. For instance, they can give a hand to deal with some work such as looking after children, taking delivery if something arrives by post or keeping an eye on the house. Secondly, villagers do not have to deal with traffic congestion and exhaust fumes released by cars and factories, thereby there is no pollution which affects people ’s health and causes dangerous diseases. Therefore, country people are much healthier than people who live in a megalopolis. On the other hand, living in a small town can bring several drawbacks. Firstly, there are inadequate employment opportunities. As a result, poor people fail to make ends meet and they tend to move to big towns to earn their livings. Secondly,the facilities of the villages can not be as good as the metropolis. City dwellers can be provided with a better healthcare system, education and the state of the art technology. To illustrate, villagers are usually less educated than megalopolis inhabitants since they do not have an opportunity to progress because of poor educational conditions. In conclusion, while living in a small village can be beneficial, it also has several drawbacks.