The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut subjects such as arts and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on subject such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

Education plays a major role in preparing children for the modernised world. Schools should remove courses like arts and music from the curriculum in order to enable them to focus on other subjects such as IT. This essay disagrees with this statement because the creative arts are an equally important aspect of life which would allow them to express themselves freely and be well knowledgeable about their culture and traditions. Arts and Music subjects should still be included in school's curriculum because, right from an early age, children need to be taught different forms of arts and crafts like painting, drawing, writing, lego building, and sculpturing amongst others in order to express themselves freely. Furthermore, It is necessary for them to develop these skills as they grow, as this will also enable them to think critically in order to solve problems. These subjects also serve as hobbies which can help them have fun and relax after a tiring day. On the contrary, if they are removed from the curriculum, this can negatively affect their moods and cognitive development. For example, in the United Kingdom, creative arts and crafts have been added to curriculums in schools and this has improved the learning system in the country. In addition, it is of great importance that students are deeply rooted in their customs and traditions. As they are taught this in schools, they learn about their history and different ways of life and cherish it. Moreover, this allows for a well-balanced society, as the creative sector is as equally notable as science and technology. Consequently, if they are not taught this they begin to embrace other people's culture which devalues their original cultural identity. For instance, in Nigeria, children are educated about past heroes, national actors and actresses and the positive impacts they have contributed to society. In conclusion, arts and music should still be included in the education system so as to provide an avenue for children to experience the creative side of life which would enable them to have a creative mindset and allow them to value and take pride in their culture.