Most modern families have both parents working and as a result children spend less and less time with their parents. What is the reason for this? What problems can this cause?

Back in the days, it was a custom for a father to be the sole bread earner of the family. However, in this contemporary epoch, it is rare to find only one parent providing for the family. While the additional income can bring a lot of benefits to everyone, especially the children, one key concern is the little time that parents are able to spend with their offspring. This essay will shed light on the reasons for these concerns and the probable problems it can lead to. In today's generation, it has become a need and not a choice for both the parents to work because of many circumstances. Firstly, the growing inflation has made it extremely difficult for one member to provide for a family. Secondly, unlike the old days, both men and women are provided equal educational and job opportunities and many times women can out-do their husbands in their career. Take, for example, a survey conducted by an Indian Newspaper - The Hindu found that in Indian cities, more than 46% of the families have both the parents working. Furthermore, the benefit of the extra income for the children remains unchanged as they can enjoy the latest trends, new gadgets and even afford a vacation abroad. That being said, this trend can have several effects on the emotional and even physical health of children. Unlike the old days, because many people are living in nuclear families, children are alone at home or at kindergartens and might feel abandoned as they have no one when they need them. To illustrate this, I would like to take my own example. I was close to my grandmother and very comfortable to share my most personal feelings and issues with her. However, after she expired, no one has been able to fill that void and it is very difficult for me to empty my heart that has indeed affected me in multiple ways. Moreover, because of this loneliness, kids sometimes may lose focus from studies, get into bad company or even get addicted to drugs. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the fact that it is important for both the partners to focus on their careers and give a happy life to their family, however, care should be taken to ensure that sufficient time is dedicated to the child to ensure that its emotional needs are fulfilled.