All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal ? How important it is for a child to learn a foreign language ?

An increasing number of people these days are aspiring to learn foreign languages, all thanks to the rising globalization and, a significant level of emphasis is being made to inculcate international language studies into the primary education. I firmly disagree with this thought process and, feel that teaching foreign languages to the students of small age group would not provide any contribution during the initial learning phase. In this essay, we will discuss a few reasons for my opinion in detail. The introduction of an international language into school module can create confusion for the children. That is to say, since children at the elementary level can be unaware about the basics of the course, we should provide them with the lessons in a single language only with a motive to firstly strengthening their basics. Conversely, if we introduce a different language lesson during that period, it will confuse the child in choosing which language to adopt. For example, in the Kindergarten, the teachers use English to educate the pupils about alphabets, pronunciations and colours, however, if they also start to teach them german along with English, the young one would probably begin facing difficulties in studies. Hence, I do not see a necessity of learning a new language during the initial stage of schooling as that period should be utilized in educating the little one either about their mother-tongue or a standard language which is widely used in the daily life as well as in the professional setups of their country. For instance, Hindi is the mother-tongue of Indians and English is the language which is widely used for official and professional purposes. Therefore, all the schools in India have adopted only these 2 languages as a part of their curriculum. To conclude, young children at the early stage in the educational institutions should be majorly taught in the official as well as a popular language of their home country so as to strengthen their basic and thus, should not be confused with other languages.