Many people believe that social networking sites such as facebook have had huge negative impact on both individually and society. To what extent do you agree?

The invention of social media in 2008 has transformed relationships forever. Many believe that social networks have left a negative influence on the public. I partially agree with this belief as there are some positive points along with the negative influences of such websites. On one hand, the boom in technology has aided in the widespread usage of this forum where people meet others virtually. On the bright side, this platform has aided the relationships which would never be possible in the real world. Childhood friends, long-distance relationships, relatives living in different countries are an example of a certain group of people who have benefitted by the use of social media. They are now able to interact verbally and visually with their friends and families free-of-cost which was not possible earlier. Therefore, social media has been a boon for a section of people. On the other hand, the sheer addiction to the usage of the virtual network has spoilt the habits of young people. The possibilities of engaging with people virtually have slowly eliminated the need for meeting friends and families physically. Children now have access to mobiles and computers at a much younger age, are glued to the screens as a result of the social media platforms. Such levels of inactivity have negatively impacted their physical and mental health. The community is lacking the personal touch or contact which aids in the development of cognitive abilities of an individual. To summarise, social platforms have aided in decreasing the distance among people for interactions, but at the same time, the community should be aware of the harmful effects for the overuse of these applications. I believe that the younger population should not be allowed to use social media which affects their well-being.