In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

It is a common view in many nations that it is much better to own a house rather than to rent one. In this essay, I will look into this matter and will share why I think that this is a positive tendency. Firstly, it is difficult to argue that historically owning real estate was a demonstration of one’s wealth and prosperity, thus establishing sustainable authority among the aristocratic community. An outstanding example of this is the number of castles within Europe. Another reason why people believe in that is the basic homo sapience evolution. It has been proven by the anthropologists and behavioural psychology that having a shelter is a fundamental need for our species. Having said that, there are some substantial grounds why I believe that an urge to have a home is a positive development. Renting an apartment or a house legally binds a client to make monthly payments, therefore, contributing to the stressful feeling of owing something every month. Such feelings can affect our emotional stability. Another good reason is that being a master of some property is a perfect alternative plan for financial stability. For example, during the economic crisis, a huge amount of population can lose their employment contracts, thus losing the ability to earn money for rent, pushing them to lead a homeless life on the streets. In conclusion, in my opinion, the main reasons why many nations choose to have property is that it contributes to the authority and builds an image of a wealthy individual, as well as it promotes a psychological feeling of security. I also think that it has some positive effects by eliminating the stress of rental payments and gives substantial financial cushion during hard times.