Some people think that students should study in their own city. However, many students prefer to study far away from their home. Do the advantages of studying away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that students are increasingly deciding to study in another city. While I understand the concerns of those who say students should be educated in their home city, I would argue that the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, studying far from home may negatively impact individuals. Firstly, they would experience loneliness, where they would have lost their network of friends. Also, they will miss the emotional support from their family members and close friends. Secondly, culture shock is a major problem, which could be due to the language barrier and cultural differences of the host city. For example, communicating with people might be challenging when signing a contract to rent a house. Despite the negatives mentioned above, studying away from home would tend to be extremely beneficial. By living in a different place rather than in their home city, students will be more independent. This lifestyle would force them to learn how to cook or how to do household chores, like ironing the clothes and washing the dishes. What's more, new experiences tend to broaden their horizon, helping them build new relationships and make new friends. Furthermore, this affects their career prospects and is immensely good for their resume. Consequently, their improved CVs and new professional skills learned will prepare them for their dream jobs. Finally, nowadays, thanks to technology, students can easily make video calls and talk to their relatives and friends. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of traveling to other cities in order to study compensate for the disadvantages.