Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

When it comes to what students should do after graduation from high school, there are two contrasting opinions. The former supposes that joining tertiary education is the best way to gain success, meanwhile, the latter is in favour of directly applying for a job. The essay will discuss both sides and explain why the author agrees with the first one. On the one hand, university or college provides people with essential things which are the basis of their future careers. During the time spent in educational institutions, individuals can learn not only specialist knowledge but also social skills such as communication, teamwork and good behaviours by working in groups with their classmates and tutors to carry out some projects. Moreover, certificates and degrees play a very important role in preparation for working afterwards. In fact, the majority of employers pay attention to the qualifications when they want to find a young generation who has never had experience. On the other hand, getting a job immediately after senior high school is an opportunity for humans to accumulate crucial experiences. If they do not spend three or four years studying, they may utilise this period of time to try various works in order to practice different skills and decide what they are going to do. For instance, the textile industry usually appreciates how long people have worked in this field, rather than which diploma they received. From my perspective, I completely approve of the first view due to the chances of jobs that higher education offers. Despite the fact that it costs a large amount of money and time, it is worth it. This is because numerous companies that pay good salaries and welfare require high-level technique skills and deep understanding, however, those are only able to be learned at university or college. In conclusion, although both participating in tertiary education and finding manual work have their own benefits and drawbacks, I personally support the former choice. Therefore, I highly recommend others follow this to gain successful achievements.