Some people say that older people should live with their adult children, while others think they should live in homes specially built for old people. Which do you think is a better practice?

It is widely argued whether taking care of the elderly at their own homes or letting them live in nursing homes is a better option. Although the latter view can be good to some extent, in my opinion, the former view seems to be more beneficial for elderly people themselves. On the one hand, there are many reasons why advocates support the view that aged people should be put in rest homes. It is undeniable that young people these days are so busy with their heavy workloads that they can leave little time for taking care of their old parents. This means that many elderly people not only have to do things by themselves but they may also feel lonely and bored in their houses. Furthermore, in fact, the majority of retired citizens are likely to suffer from health deterioration or joint-related diseases which make them unable to walk. Therefore, living in designated homes for the elderly can provide them with sufficient medical care from experienced nurses as well as the daily face-to-face interactions with other old people. On the other hand, I am more convinced that the elderly will be happier if they can live with their adult children and grandchildren who have special roles in the aged people ’s lives. Firstly, most old people feel more satisfied when they can see their adult offspring on a daily basis and help to look after the house along with their grandchildren at the retirement age. This somehow eradicates the shame of becoming burdens for their offspring and therefore gives them a feeling of being useful in society. In other words, living close to their loving family can have positive effects on the older people ’s mental health which plays a vital role in prolonging their life expectancy. Secondly, compared to the high standard lives in nursing centres, the costs of taking care of the elderly at home are by far more economical since families have to spend a huge amount of money, about 5000 dollars a year on average in the USA, for example, so that their old parents can be offered with good services in nursing houses. In conclusion, the elderly can exert medical benefits from living in nursing houses, yet I still hold a firm belief that retired citizens should live under the same roof with their adult children to maintain good mental health and expand their longevity.