Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is argued that instead of being invested a huge amount of money to maintain, old architectures should be demolished to make way for the construction of many new buildings. However, in my opinion, both old buildings and modern ones should be spent equally because of some reasons below. On the one hand, I believe that people should not knock down the ancient structures but financial resources should be allocated for their maintenance costs. First of all, maintaining old buildings means preserving the long-standing history and valuable cultural heritage. When traditional values are well protected, this can promote citizens’ patriotism and the pride of their origins, which motivates people to devote to the development of their country. Besides, it is true that old buildings can be considered as tourist attractions which bring about a huge source of income for the tourism industry. This can be exemplified by the Hue Citadel, which is recognized as a cultural heritage by UNESCO, attracts millions of visitors every year and contributes significantly to the GDP of Vietnam. On the other hand, I also argue that it is of vital importance for people to spend an equal amount of money on building new structures. With the fast pace of modern life, besides the increasing demands for houses due to the population explosion, the need for modern office buildings which can both accommodate a large number of people to work efficiently and have impressive exterior appearance is also higher. Along with the globalisation, modern structures can make considerable contributions to leaving deep impressions on overseas partners and boosting international trade. In addition, apart from preserving traditional values, constructing outstanding and state-of-the-art buildings can also play a key role in strategies of developing tourism. For example, the iconic Bitexco tower with a special shape of lotus can evoke curiosity for tourists and become a landmark earning much money for the government. In conclusion, I myself hold a firm belief that the national budget should be channelled equally into maintaining old structures and erecting modern ones to gain sustainable development in the long run.