The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

People have different views about some traditional ideas about their lifestyle, value system and behaviour. Some of them reckon that young adults do not need to accept these outdated concepts. From my perspective, I tend to agree that we should accept these old thoughts partially. On the one hand, some of the views held by the older generation are out-of-fashion and harmful to the younger generation. For instance, there is a traditional belief of gender inequality, which should be deleted in the young generation ’s moral value. Nowadays, in some regions of China, there is still gender discrimination on women, which may exert a deleterious impact on female victims’ mental health and growth. Definitely, as we live in a modern, open and harmonious society, this kind of aggressive and meaningless thoughts should never be learned by the young. However, after centuries of testing, we have to admit that some traditional views are meaningful and helpful. To begin with, in some traditional cultures, the youth suppose to take their filial duties. This is actually beneficial for young adults to cultivate a strong sense of responsibility as well as improve their time management skills because they have to balance their time on work and family. Alternatively, as everybody knows that the older generation is relatively more hospitable and generous than the younger generation. Such kind of social skill and personal character are very essential for the youth. In conclusion, although some traditional concepts held by the older generation are not always applicable for the modern society, I still believe young adults should take the essence and discard the dregs, as parts of those ideas are truly valuable.