In some countries an increasingly number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been widely reported that the population of several nations is becoming sick due to the consumption of a great quantity of industrialized aliments. As a result, taxing this type of food in a more severe way has been suggested as mandatory by some. I strongly agree with this statement, since it can tackle a major public problem provoked by a bad eating habit and also stimulate the population to have a healthier diet. First and foremost, the large number of people who are becoming ill due to an unhealthy diet became[LS1] a public health issue, which demands stricter actions from the statesmen. Medical researches have shown that the number of patients diagnosed with diseases related to bad eating habits is higher than ever before. Therefore, considering the government has a moral responsibility to take care of its citizens, it is extremely fundamental that they apply a higher tax on fast food. Secondly, it is widely known that junk food is generally more affordable than real food, which makes it more appealing to consumers. Consequently, if the price of processed food were more expensive than healthy meals, people would think twice before eating the first one, which could ultimately lead to an improvement in their health conditions. For instance, if a salad were considerably cheaper than a hamburger, it is extremely probable that a person would choose to eat it instead of the latter. Thus, an increase in the current tax rate of fast food would be a positive decision. In conclusion, it seems to me that implementing a heavier tax on junk food can make people try a healthier lifestyle and also address a public health issue caused by the high number of illnesses related to a bad diet.