Nowadays, more and more people to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

There is a current trend that young couples tend to build families and have children in the later years of their lives. This phenomenon can be the result of financial constraints from economic crises and more years invested in education. It also provides benefits and drawbacks towards society, and I personally believe that this trend has more positive effects. To begin, it is undeniable that having a baby requires a large sum of money, from birth to adulthood. Combined with recent economic crises from the pandemic and wars, there is more financial burden on basic utilities and costs of living. For example, the inflation rate in 2023 increased sharply than previous years. In addition, with the competitiveness in the labour market, young adults need more degrees and experience to secure a job. Consequently, the youngsters need more time to accumulate their stabilities and leads to building a family later than the previous generations. According to the trend, family with more maturity and stability could provide more quality time and resources for their offspring. For instance, people in their thirties can be calmer in handling their children. As the kids' behaviour is heavily influenced by their parents, it could result in the kids with better behaviour. However, when they start having babies late, they could face infertility issues, which lead to improper population proportions, and less workforce to take care of the elderly. Although there is a risk of less workforce in the future, the quality population and advancement of technology could compensate for the issue. In conclusion, young people currently plan to have children in later days as a more economic burden and effort in education, which could lead to more mature parents and a more quality population in the future.