Many school children today take part in work experience sessions for short periods of time instead of attending school is this a positive or a negative development

It has been a popular trend now to put children into what can be called as hands-on sessions. Some people criticise this practice whereas others support it. In this essay, first I will try to argue about both the positives and the negatives of this issue on kids and second I will put forward a rationale behind why this program is actually a positive for children. To begin with, one of the primary criticisms of work during school hours is that it eats up study time. This is true especially when the performance and peer pressure is increasing on students. For example, to get into decent college pupils must compete in a rat-race as a number of vacancies in such institutes are less. Furthermore,It is also a common notion that they should be provided with every bit of help to maximise their potential to excel in the curriculum. Taking them out of the school, it is therefore argued, stops them from getting access to needed education for a significant amount of time. As the minor won't really be of much help to a workplace for just one week, it would be hence better for them to remain at the academy. However, an Important gain which these hands-on session brought has more weightage than just letting them continue with their normal subjects. For instance, practical exposure to a technicality of complex subjects develops their problem-solving skills. So taking a child's whole experience of school into account, taking a single week away does not make a significant difference. Indeed, if the timing of the week's task placement is done correctly, the task can also be served as a "holiday" away from faculty. In addition, these practicals will prepare them in advance for their future lives. They can see it is nothing to be scared about. By allowing children to work in temporary sessions, they will get an idea about which career would be suitable for them in future. To conclude, I feel that trial placements can be seen as a positive development. Missing short span of the academy is not a serious issue & the benefits that can be gained from the sessions are significant.