With advancing technology, the development of automated vehicles is becoming reality. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of self-driving vehicles?

It is quite common these days for transportation in many countries to be automated through development in technology. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend from my own opinions. On the one hand, there are several reasons why automated vehicles are beneficial. A common reason is that it improves the efficiency of the supply chain of products, benefiting the economy. This is because we would need less labour involved in the production and distribution of goods, helping firms cut costs. This means they can lower prices for consumers while still retaining the same profit as before. As an example, it is reported by Amazon that by utilising self-driving delivery trucks, Amazon's labour cost experienced a 15% decrease in 2019. On the other hand, the implementation of self-driving technology also comes with a number of disadvantages that should be taken into consideration. One of the obvious drawbacks is how this innovation can affect the labour market for drivers. As their specialised skill of driving has now been replaced by artificial intelligence, these drivers have become redundant, leading to unemployment which puts a burden on the government. For example, the implementation of self-driving trains in Germany resulted in over 10,000 train conductors becoming unemployed. In conclusion, automated mobiles could bring about certain benefits, but their negative consequences should not be overlooked. My view is that self-driving vehicles play an important role in shaping our future, but in the near future, it may create new issues that need to be resolved by society.