There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family.

Nowadays, it is very common that couples are considering having a small family instead of a bigger family. Although having a big family will be an ideal thing to do after marriage, I do believe that as things evolve various couples will rather choose starting a small family. In this essay I will discuss why having a smaller family will be very beneficial to both children and couples. To start with,a long time ago it was very popular to have a large family. Couples are encouraged to have heaps of children as they believe having an extended family will be much happier and I will not argue with this. However, as a person who grew up in a big family, I would say there are some drawbacks especially for the budgeting of the money. For instance, my father owned a mechanical shop before, even though he owns it we’ve noticed that providing food on the table for his children wasn’t enough and we grew up malnourished those days. Additionally, parents will have a favourite and this will give other siblings the feeling of jealousy. Therefore, a bigger family will not be good as it can affect the emotional and physical development of the children. On the other hand, as time passed governments have been encouraging couples to consider smaller families. Young couples these days are more practical about choosing to start a smaller family or leave it later after they are secured. For example, if the parents have only one or two children they can be more focused on their children as well as they can prioritize the needs of their kids. Furthermore, it will not be hard for them to show their affection equally at the same time. As a result, having a smaller family will be much easier as everyone's needs are met accordingly and this can develop stronger bonds for the family. In conclusion, having a smaller family has been increasing enormously these days. Family is an important core of an individual's life as we can lend on them easily when we have a problem. My own view on the matter is that if you want to give a good future for your kids, having a smaller family will be a good choice.