What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

In recent years, shopping from the internet has not only brought some drastic changes in the buying habits of the customers but it has also lead to the extinction of community businesses. However, the local outlets can still secure their place in the market if they can bring some improvement in their services for the consumers. In this essay, we will discuss a few of the changes that a small-scaled store can adapt to attract and retain customers along with some merits and demerits of online buying for people as well as for the organizations. To begin with, being a retailer, the community vendors cannot do much about the products they sell, conversely, they can up-grade their offering for their customers. To illustrate, they can offer quicker home-delivery services, they can also start taking orders online through platforms such as Whatsapp. Therefore, by adopting consumer-oriented marketing techniques, local shops can encourage people to shop from them. Online shopping, on the other hand, has become the first preference for people when it comes to purchasing commodities. One of the reason could be that it provides comfort to individuals. In other words, people do not have to specifically travel to someplace for doing the shopping and, they can simply place orders from their home or office at any time. For instance, I mostly do grocery shopping during my free time at work. In contrast, this comfort has limited the physical movement of the public and hence, can lead them to become socially and physically inactive. Furthermore, the purchasing interface created by the World Wide Web has benefitted the commercial setups as well through services where they would not have to pay transportation charges on their bulk orders. That is to say, companies can now book their furniture orders on Amazon and the shipment and transportation will be taken care by the Amazon team with no additional charges which is not the case if they buy from a local vendor. However, unlike community stores, Amazon works on standardized rate card and there will be no discount on bulk purchase. To conclude, community outlets can business by creating some attractive ways of serving customers. The merits and demerits of the internet buying for both people and firms are well mentioned in the above paragraphs.