Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and cociety. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals think that the use of social media caused enormous drawbacks on people and also on society. I totally agree with this since nowadays people are more isolated and do not accept the way they look and local communities are losing their identity. The use of social networking brought many negative developments for individuals. Firstly, each day people have fewer strong relationships in their real lives and hundreds of friends online, consequently, when they need help they do not have anyone to support them since most of their online friends are just numbers and do not really care about them. Secondly, because of the constant use of filters, people do not accept themselves anymore for what they are, and this leads to depression and countless unnecessary interventions. To illustrate, the number of young women seeking plastic surgeries so they can look in real life the same way as they look when they are using filters has doubled last year in Brazil. Social media also caused negative impacts on society. Since individuals nowadays spend most of their time online they are no longer interested in participating in local activities. As a result, local communities have been losing their identities and cultural traditions are left behind causing irreparable lost in diversity. For instance, many local festivals have been cancelled all around the world due to lack of participation from the inhabitants. The sense of community is also being lost over time, people are not eager to help each other like they would in the past leading to extremely isolated individuals that feel like they do not belong anywhere. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that social media sites have had an extensive negative impact on people ’s lives and society since nowadays individuals have weaker relationships and do not accept their appearance and local communities are losing their cultural identities.