IN A NUMBER OF COUNTRIES, SOME PEOPLE THINK IT IS NECESSARY TO SPEND LARGE SUMS OF MONEY ON CONSTRUCTING NEW RAILWAY LINES FOR FAST TRAINS BETWEEN CITIES. OTHER BELIEVS THE MONEY SHOULD BE SPENT ON IMPROVING EXISTING PUBLIC TRANSPORT. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

These days, human population growth has increased the need for a better means of public transportation. Some persons believe that it is better for the government to spend huge sums of money in the construction of new railway lines for high-speed trains connecting cities, while others want the money to be used to develop the already existing public transport. In this essay, I will explain both sides and state my own opinion on this. Investing in high-speed trains will make transportation between cities to be faster. This is common in most of the European countries. One can be sleeping in Asaba and working in Port Harcourt. Another advantage of this is that new things tend to last long. The government will save more in the long run as maintenance cost will reduce during this period as compared to frequent repairs of an old transport system. Lastly, there will be little or no breakdown of trains as is currently being experienced with the old system. On the other hand, it will be cheaper for the government to spend more on restoring the current rail system. This should be a more cost-effective solution in the short term if we are considering repair alone. However, the current system is getting obsolete and trying to improve it to the technology of today will only lead to spending more money. Repairing the current system will not take it to meet up with the public transportation demand of today. In conclusion, the current rail system is getting too old, repairing it alone will not solve the current demand for a better rail system. It is my view that the government spends money on making a better and faster rail system connecting large cities and those within the cities should be repaired.