Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that these days social media brings us the opportunity to know deeply about famous people. While some people consider this can provide a positive effect on children, others argue that there are serious drawbacks. In this essay, I will support with examples why I tend to agree with the latter argument. Firstly, celebrities are becoming a reference point followed by many teenagers. Furthermore, their bodies are copied by young people who do not realize these bodies are unreal, consequently, they are creating a distortion of reality, which can be dangerous. For instance, Kardashians' family are giving the wrong idea of the perfect body to our children, who can not know if this type of body is normal or not. If famous people did not have that sort of coverage on social media, children would not have this model of reference. As a result, everyone would accept themselves, and they would not have as many problems related to that. In addition, celebrities provide not only an unreal body but also a bad attitude in front of the camera. It is clear that children enjoy their spare time on the internet, consequently, they spend a lot of time viewing celebrities' videos where they do not always have great behaviours. To illustrate, there a massive number of videos where famous are drinking spirits, smoking, or even worse consuming drugs, which is clearly not a good example for adolescents. As a consequence, they assume this is the normal way of living and they act the same way, adopting this type of lifestyle. To conclude, I firmly believe that covering media famous people's life is a dangerous game, and it has a negative effect on children. It is evident that young people can not distinguish between the real world and social media, which could lead to serious problems.