Many developing countries place a lot of importance on tourism. Why is this? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

Tourism has become one of the most important activities in developing countries. Indeed, some countries completely rely on tourism to support their economy. This essay will pinpoint what are some reasons for this and present arguments to support my opinion that this is a positive development. To begin with, the main reason why developing countries consider tourism as highly important is related to economics factors. First, the government of those nations invests a lot of money in their structure in order to receive an increasing number of tourists. This is because they consider that tourism has a decisive role in their economic growth and, therefore, the investments in those sectors will return. Second, tourism makes those expanding nations to become more famous worldwide. For example, countries like Colombia and Mexico are famous due to the Caribean sea and, as a result, millions of tourists choose those countries to spend some time and money. In my opinion, choosing to rely on tourism is completely positive for those countries. Considering the arguments aforementioned, tourism brings a lot of money to those nations and helps them to increase their economy. To illustrate, there are some countries, such as Malta and South Africa, where almost 90 per cent of their economic activity is due to tourism. As a consequence, numerous jobs are created and the inhabitants of those countries are able to have their sources of income. To sum up, I believe it is a smart choice placing more importance in tourism because it helps developing countries to expand their economy. I suggest that governors not only keep their policies concerning tourism but also increase their investments.