In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, older people are sent to indefinitely reside in senior homes. The funding for such places is sometimes made by the government. While some might argue, I strongly believe that it is the government's responsibility to make such payments. This essay will discuss this topic, in addition to giving relevant examples from my life. First and foremost, the government is responsible for setting higher ethical grounds for itself as an institution. Therefore, not caring for its older population does not follow such high standards of ethics and would make it at an increased risk of losing its citizens' support. For instance, I have recently read an article published at the Guardian that illustrated how politicians that advocated for funding senior homes from taxes were more likely to get re-elected. In other words, both the people and the governmental parties benefit from allocating public money for supporting such institutions. Secondly, those who are currently older than seventy once were young workers who contributed to the country's economy. As a result, it is only fair for them to benefit from the economic growth they have achieved for the country. For example, I personally know many senior homes' residents who used to work as doctors, financial analysts, and political advisors. Consequently, it is the nation's task to provide a decent life for the men and women who built it. By doing so, it is also encouraging its youngsters to work harder, knowing that they would eventually have publically funded institutes to take care of them. To conclude, more and more retirees require to live in senior citizens' housing. Although the source of funding for such organizations might be a reason for arguments, my mind is already made up and my stand on this issue is clear. I am a strong advocate for the government to pay for it. The reasons for which might vary, but the two most important causes are its moral commitment towards humanity as a whole and how it is ultimately beneficial for the country to support its seniors.