Some people think it is important to spend a lot of money on a wedding celebration, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Weddings embark a new phase of an individual's life and are considered as a significant milestone of life in many societies. Prospective brides and grooms, along with their kith and kin are excited to begin a new journey and wish to celebrate their happiness together. Any celebration is associated with the budget people are willing to allocate for it, and the long-standing discussion vacillates between whether these wedding ceremonials should be lavish or concerned parties should spend in moderation. This essay will shed light on both sides of the debate; I personally agree with the latter view. The proponents of this view believe that wedding celebrations should be grand and involve everyone they know. For example, in some Indian villages, the entire village is a part of the procession or in metropolitan cities, a politician or an actor invites all their colleagues to the wedding. Such type of pomps can usually be very expensive and the organizers might spend their lifetime of savings on a single wedding. Therefore, to avoid a celebration which was intended for happiness become a concern, people should think before splurging money. Another school of thought categorically opines that such large scale marriages are a root cause of social evils and the unhappiness of the families involved. To give a clear example, families are coerced into spending a huge fortune on weddings due to the social pressure and the obligation to depict their standard of living. Moreover, a lot of instances are witnessed where families take loans for carrying out the celebrations which hugely impacts their other financial responsibilities. Thus, weddings must be a private affair and involve only one's close acquaintances to avoid such problems. To conclude, I want to recapitulate my opinion that even though marriage is an important ceremony, people must exercise caution on the amount of money spent on the weddings and carefully plan all other milestones of their life in addition to this one.