A lot of young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating from high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill?

Many students are learning different subjects like math and science but lack the fundamental knowledge of money management. They find it difficult to handle their finances upon graduating from high school. In this essay, I will discuss some of the possible reasons why the younger generation find it hard to manage their money and suggest a few solutions to solve this problem. One of the main reasons is that children are not taught financial lessons at school. The schools are so focused on teaching the curriculum that they miss out on training kids on this very important skill. Furthermore, parents usually avoid discussing matters involving money with children. They are always asked to leave the room when parents are discussing about cash related issues which keep them in the dark about such matters. Indeed, this leads to a child growing unaware of how cash is handled at home. One of the many steps to tackle this issue is that schools should take the initiative to include financial classes with their regular subjects. A recent survey showed that teenagers were interested in learning more about finances but their curriculum did not include it. This should be started even before high school to nurture the habit of proper money management from a very young age in kids. Additionally, this skill should also be taught at home. Parents should be encouraged to discuss about money with their children. Moreover, kids should be taught about time value concept. A child should be taught that buying a soda for 1.5 $ daily would add up to a big amount in the future which is a waste of money. In conclusion, both schools and parents have a vital role in developing money management skills in children. Schools modifying their syllabus and parents ' approach towards kids can help build a much financially responsible new generation.