In many cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a major problem. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to solve it?

In recent years, the number of gridlocks has become a significant issue. In this essay, I will explore the main problems associated with congestion and suggest practical solutions to address them. One major problem caused by traffic jams is urbanisation. This is because many people are moving from rural areas to urban areas. People tend to move to the city because they can enhance their careers through job opportunities or educational facilities. These issues trigger bottlenecks in the way, especially during rush hour. To illustrate, Surabaya has reported that, from 2020 to 2025, total urban population has been increasing; consequently, Surabaya has the highest congestion in East Java Island. To tackle this problem, one effective solution would be for governments to develop effective strategies to reduce gridlock in their cities. For instance, the Jakarta government created the program 'odd-even traffic rule,' a policy that limits vehicles based on their license plate numbers on certain days. This approach works because it can reduce congestion and air pollution. Additionally, governments must create other programs to manage people's urbanisation. These programs can help solve population density in urban areas by limiting people entering the city. Simultaneously, these two government policies can reduce traffic jams in urban areas. In a nutshell, many cities around the world have serious problems with traffic jams. Moreover, the resulting pollution and gridlock have been increasing year to year. However, this issue can be mitigated through government programs like Jakarta's 'odd-even traffic rule.' The government and individuals should work together to cope with these challenges effectively.