In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the world becomes increasingly more developed, raising children becomes more challenging. While some cultures encourage children to be independent, others are stricter and make it compulsory for the younger generation to follow the rules. This essay will discuss why I believe that the latter trend is ultimately better. First and foremost, although growing up in a strict culture is not enjoyable, it does have many benefits. For instance, children would be taught how to show respect from an early age. Take Japan as an example. It is known to be one of the least flexible nations when it comes to following the rules. However, during my visits there, I was able to witness how beneficial such behaviours are for the development of its people's characters. Respect, dedication, and faithfulness are only some of the traits the Japanese are famous for. Secondly, being raised in a strict society instils in its members the importance of following the rules. Consequently, they become more law-abiding citizens who are less likely to get in trouble with the police. To highlight this, I have recently read an article in Harvard Business Review that stated how some countries (like China and India) are closing down many prisons simply because they are not needed anymore. In contrast to more liberal places, like the United States, where they are constantly in need of such institutions to be expanded. To conclude, I believe that the stricter you are on children, the better humans they turn out to be. The merits of such an upbringing include, but are not limited to, making them respectful humans towards each other and towards the law. Therefore, eliminating their chances of causing trouble and facing a sentence.