In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Students are said to be the future in growth for any developed or developing nation. Many people believe that students should be encouraged to travel abroad after completion of their high school but there are others who disagree on this suggestion. We will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages for this viewpoint of students in our essay. Those students, who plan to take time off after their studies and travel outside their home town are more likely to gain practical work experience and self-confidence, which are the key benefits for them. For an instance, students who work part-time in cafes and restaurants are financially independent and have the understanding to deal with common public, which is somewhat limited to their counter-parts who refute to move outside their countries. Thus, these are amongst the advantages, for students, in boosting their self-confidence and to improve their view-point towards the real world. Though travelling is good for students there are also some drawbacks related to this idea in terms of emotional set-back and safety. While young people are vulnerable to emotional support, they tend to get depressed easily when are away from their families, for a long time. Safety of female travellers is a major area of concern when they visit some nations, who have a bad reputation for eve-teasing and woman harassment. For example, many countries in Asia like India is not considered safe for woman travellers, especially at night time. Hence, every factor should be taken into account before deciding to travel outside of the city. To conclude, we saw major advantages and disadvantages related to student's travel after they finish their high school. All aspects should be taken into consideration to avoid any horrendous consequences at a later stage.