Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern age, with the development of gadgets, most children’s daytime involves using their handsets whether for school-related courses or recreational activities. Negative aspects may outbalance the positives if not regulated. Smartphones play an important role in adolescent’s lives in particular. On the one hand, some schools hold online classes obligatory for students to participate in, as they are set as part of their educational curriculum furthermore, they are given homework assignments which require the use of devices such as smartphones. On the other hand, playing online games with friends has become popular among teenagers as an optimal activity in terms of entertainment. For example, a study published in the UK’s official publication in 2022 revealed that 75% of adolescents spend an average of three hours of their free time, playing an online game known as “PUBG” and making virtual friends. Time spent on handsets is considered a passive activity; therefore, concerning downsides of this phenomenon should not be overlooked. Spending long hours on mobile phones endangers both the physical and mental health of a child. Obesity is one of the resulting issues, as children feel reluctant to engage in outdoor events such as soccer matches. In addition, staring at screens for long is an unhealthy habit for one’s visual system, leading to severe headaches and increasing the likelihood of needing glasses early in life. Despite the fact that artificial intelligence helps us in various aspects of our lives, it hinders youth's creativity. Without the internet, children would communicate with people in person and interact with nature. Thus, improving their social skills and creativity. In conclusion, children devote a considerable amount of time to their smartphones to fulfill school requirements or occupy their leisure time. while digital gadgets offer numerous benefits, such as facilitating education and providing entertainment, their overuse can lead to adverse consequences for youngsters.