Some people say that public libraries are an important resource and should be free .Others say that they are just a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Libraries are a great source of knowledge. However, many people are arguing about the importance of public libraries in our society. Both of their arguments are valid, as, on one hand,some people say libraries are an important resource and should be free and on the other hand people consider them as wastage of public money. Libraries provide knowledge that enlightens the public's mind. In the past, kingdoms considered library is considered crucial storage of their kingdom area and their expertise of warfare, science and technology, for example, Nalanda, in Bihar, had the largest library of that era, many scholars from around the world, would travel to study there. In recent times too, libraries provide information regarding all the subject one needs. Thus, it is an important resource and should be free, so that all people can accumulate knowledge for their betterment. Although public libraries are important for some public's enlightenment, many people misuse this facility. Lending books from public libraries and never returning them incur a loss to these libraries, and moreover, it depletes other people of the information that book consists. In the recent study conducted by a reputed university, it has been noted that every year almost 20% of books that were taken from public libraries, were not returned even after the due date. The study concluded that this is due to the low amount being charged for these books. Therefore, it is safe to say that increasing the penalty charges is required. In conclusion, I would like to agree on the fact that public libraries are an important resource for any country and absolutely doesn't wastes the public money, however, it shouldn't be kept free, as this would lead more misuses by the crowd. Keeping all the books in check, and incrementing the penalty for missing the due date is necessary. People should understand the importance of these libraries and consider them as a source of learning for the whole public.